When I was a little girl I used to love playing with the things on my mother’s dressing table which included her jewellery and an array of lotions and potions,  none of which I knew the purpose of and all of which I longed to use. Even the most basic pot of Nivea Cream seemed exotic to me, but the perfumed body cream from Avon was my favourite, both for its smell and for the pretty little-screw topped jar it came in.

Image

Image

My mother didn’t wear a great deal of cosmetics and the contents of her make up bag were very basic: foundation, pale pink blusher, lilac eye shadow and a couple of lipsticks in shades of pink and orange.  There was one additional item though that always baffled me: a tube of green concealer.  Apparently my mother used it on her cheeks, the idea being that the green would minimise the redness of the broken capillaries, or spider veins that had developed on her face.  The trick however, is to use it sparingly………I know from my own experience at a very young age, that if you use too much of that curious green goo you simply end up looking like Princess Fiona!

Image

Things have now gone full circle and I have my own green concealer (used sparingly, of course) and no doubt my daughters are just as curious as I was as to what it’s for……

Image

Isn’t a face mask supposed to improve my looks???

